Be committed Go beyond Be stirred

THE ROOTS OF THE COURSE CROISIÈRE EDHEC

In 1968, 3 Edhec’s students established the Course Croisière EDHEC. Jean-Luc Picot, Francis Prat et Pierre Jouanet aspired to make the sport they are passionate about more popular. The goal is quickly achieved: the Course Croisiere Edhec leaves its mark in the nautic world. Since 1970, it has been known as an European sport event welcoming all European great schools. Some competitors collected tens of thousands of euros to rent their boat or to be skipped by a professional.

Among those famous sailors that competed during the Course Croisière EDHEC, can be found Eric Tabarly, Alain Colas, Franck Cammas, Olivier de Kersauson, Vincent Riou, Jean Le Cam, Marc Thiercelin, Yves Parlier, Marc Pajot, Yann Eliès, Yvan Bourgnon, Jean-Luc Van Den Heede, ou encore Jimmy Pahun.

EVOLUTIONS

FROM A MERE REGATTA TO THE COURSE CROISIÈRE EDHEC

For its 10th anniversary in 1979, crews of the Course Croisière EDHEC stopped for the first time in a foreign country in Guernsey in England. During the following year competitors of the Sea Trophy sailed in a new path ie the  Cherbourg – Cowes – Cherbourg . They competed against each other while sailing across the English Channel. In 1975In 1975 the Organization changed its name EDHEC Sailing Cup to Course Croisière EDHEC 2 years later the French Federation of Sailing started to supervise the race, which helped gathering all competitors around the event. The record of participation in the Sea Trophy was reached in 1987 with 347 boats in competition.

6 generations of CCE's presidents : Louis Farbos de Luzan (50th), Gregoire Delpit (40th), Fabrice de Vienne (30th), Martin Barbier (20th), Eric Bigeard (10th), Jean Luc Picot et Francis Prat (1st).

SPORTS' DIVERSIFICATION

Over years members of the Course Croisière EDHEC aspired to welcome a diversity of sports. Since 1994, the CCE has offered a new Trophy, the Land Trophy. It is a multisport raid in the home port composed of mountain biking, canoeing, orienteering, zip-line, abseiling and when the weather is friendly climbing. In 2007 a new Trophy, the Sand Trophy was created competitions of Beach Volley, Beach rugby and Beach Soccer took place. An obstacle course, the MudContest, was organized between competitors of the Land and Sand Trophy. In 2012 at La Rochelle an archery event was staged at the Château de la Roche Courbon. A new Trophy was created to promote dinghy sailing, which is the Kite TrophyIts name then changed to Air Trophy for the 44th edition. It was composed of 2 main activities: Kitesurf Contest et le Windsurf Contest. The KiteSurf contest was held on the first weekend of the event and gathered 50 competitors divided into 3 to 5 members teams. The WindSurf Contest was a long-distance competition that took place in 2014 on a water basin. They competed against each other in freestyle race and wave contests. About sixty participants compete on RS:One board models. The Air Trophy ended in 2016 due to logistical reasons and unpredictable weather conditions.

OUR SPONSORS

LONG-STANDING RELATIONSHIPS

For each new edition the event, Course Croisière EDHEC is sponsored by someone new, who has generally a sailing background. It allows us to introduce great names of sailing to many students, to democratize sailingSponsorship by sports personalities or politicians make it possible for the Organization to share its core values meaning boldness, ambition, commitment, self-improvement, and finally a taste for wildenesswilderness.

The sponsor of the 8th editon of the race, Alain Colasth stated then: I am pleased to welcome this new edition of the Course Croisière EDHEC, which reflects the entrepreneurial spirit entrepreneurship and willingness of a homogeneous team and gives a growing number of people the opportunity to explore things.
In addition to the sponsors of each edition, numerous conferences take place in the Village Jour. In 2002, in Les Sables d'Olonne, an Club Inter Pressewas set up. It was responsible for media coverage of the international crews. In 2005, once again in Les Sables d'Olonne, the Course Croisière EDHEC welcomed politicians Nicolas Sarkozy and François Bayrou for a debate on the European constitution with students. In 2018, the Course Croisière EDHEC committed itself to social projects by inviting Ségolène Royalthen Ambassador in charge of international negotiations for the Arctic and Antarctic poles.

S'engager Se dépasser Vibrer

LES ORIGINES DE LA COURSE CROISIERE EDHEC

En 1968, trois étudiants de l’EDHEC fondent ensemble l’association Course Croisière EDHEC. Jean-Luc Picot, Francis Prat et Pierre Jouanet veulent démocratiser la pratique du sport qui les passionne, la voile. Très vite, l’événement prend de l’ampleur et s’impose dans le paysage nautique. Dès 1970, elle est reconnue comme un événement sportif européen et ouvre ses portes à toutes les Grandes Ecoles d’Europe. Certains participants de la régate rassemblent des dizaines de milliers d’euros pour financer la location du bateau et éventuellement un skipper.

Parmi les skippers reconnus qui ont participé à la Course Croisière EDHEC, on retrouve notamment Eric Tabarly, Alain Colas, Franck Cammas, Olivier de Kersauson, Vincent Riou, Jean Le Cam, Marc Thiercelin, Yves Parlier, Marc Pajot, Yann Eliès, Yvan Bourgnon, Jean-Luc Van Den Heede, ou encore Jimmy Pahun.

LES ÉVOLUTIONS

DE LA REGATE A LA COURSE CROISIERE EDHEC

Pour sa 10ème édition en 1979, les équipages de la Course Croisière EDHEC font pour la première fois escale à l’étranger et se rendent à Guernesey en Angleterre. L’année suivante, les participants du Trophée Mer suivent un parcours inédit, le   Cherbourg – Cowes – Cherbourg , et traversent la Manche pour la compétition. En 1975, l’association change de nom et passe de EDHEC Sailing Cup à Course Croisière EDHEC et quand 2 ans plus tard la régate devient affiliée à la Fédération Française de Voile, c’est toute une communauté qui se crée autour de l’événement. Le record de participation au Trophée Mer est atteint en 1987 avec 347 bateaux en compétition.

6 générations de présidents de la CCE : Louis Farbos de Luzan (50e), Gregoire Delpit (40e), Fabrice de Vienne (30e), Martin Barbier (20e), Eric Bigeard (10e), Jean Luc Picot et Francis Prat (1ère).

UNE DIVERSIFICATION SPORTIVE

Au fil des éditions, les Organisateurs de la Course Croisière EDHEC ont eu à cœur d’ouvrir la porte à de plus en plus de sports. Dès 1994, la CCE propose un nouveau Trophée, le Trophée Terre, qui s’articule autour d’un raid multisport dans l’arrière-pays du port d’accueil. Peu à peu le raid inclut du VTT, du canoë, du tir à l’arc et quand les conditions s’y prêtent, de l’escalade. En 2007 c’est la naissance du Trophée Sable avec des matchs de Beach Volley, Beach rugby et Beach Soccer. Ensemble le TT et le TS proposent le MudContest, un parcours du combattant qui se tient sur une journée dans la semaine. En 2012 à La Rochelle une épreuve de tir est proposée aux participants du Trophée Terre sur le domaine du Château de la Roche Courbon. Une nouvelle épreuve est créée pour intégrer la voile légère à l’événement: le Trophée Kite. Il est renommé Trophée Air pour la 44ème édition de la CCE et s’articulait autour de deux compétitions: le Kitesurf Contest et le Windsurf Contest. Le Kitesurf Contest se déroulait le premier week-end de la semaine de Course et rassemblait 50 participants répartis en équipe de 3 à 5 riders. Ils venaient s’affronter sur différents types d’épreuves: en Freestyle, en Race et en Vagues. Le Windsurf Contest était quant à lui une compétition de longue distance qui a eu lieu en 2014 sur un bassin nautique. Une soixantaine de participants s’affrontaient sur des modèles de planche RS:One. Le Trophée Air a pris fin en 2016 pour des raisons logistiques et l’imprévisibilité météorologique.

NOS MARRAINES ET PARRAINS

HISTOIRE DU PARRAINAGE

À chaque nouvelle édition, la Course Croisière EDHEC se dote d’un nouveau parrain, généralement issu du monde de la voile. Il nous permet de faire connaître les grands noms de la voile à un large public étudiant, dans une logique de démocratisation. Le parrainage par des personnalités sportives et parfois politiques permet aussi à la CCE de transmettre des valeurs qui lui sont chères: l’audace, l’ambition, la détermination, le dépassement de soi, et enfin le goût de l’aventure.

Alain COLAS, parrain de la 8ème Course en 1976 déclarait ainsi: Je suis heureux de saluer cette nouvelle édition de la Course Croisière EDHEC qui traduit l’esprit d’entreprise et la détermination d’une équipe homogène et donne à un nombre grandissant l’occasion de goûter aux joutes du large.
En plus des Parrains et Marraines de chaque édition, de nombreuses conférences prennent place sur le Village Jour. En 2002, aux Sables d’Olonne, se crée un Club Inter Presse, chargé de médiatiser les équipages internationaux. En 2005, de nouveau aux Sables d’Olonne, le village de la Course Croisière EDHEC accueille les hommes politiques Nicolas Sarkozy et François Bayrou pour un débat sur la constitution européenne avec les étudiants présents. En 2018, la Course Croisière EDHEC continue son engagement dans des projets sociaux en invitant Ségolène Royal, alors Ambassadrice chargée de la négociation internationale pour les pôles arctique et antarctique.